Deaneries

The Diocese of California is organized into six deaneries (a group of congregations). The Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and Southern Alameda deaneries cover their respective counties; the Peninsula Deanery consists of all of San Mateo County and a small portion of Santa Clara County.

The deaneries hold convocations/meetings three to four times each year; contact the deanery president or officers for exact meeting dates and locations if not listed here.
 
 

2018 DEANERY OFFICERS

Deanery-elected members to diocesan Executive Council are listed on the Executive Council web page here.
 

ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: Krista Fregoso, associate@stjohnsoakland.org
Vice-president: Scott Buckingham, b.scott.buckingham@gmail.com
Secretary: Sandy Burnett, sgburnett@comcast.net
Treasurer: Greg Hintz, greg@hintz.us

2017 Fall Meeting: Thursday, Sept 14 – 6:30pm – All Souls, Berkeley

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: vacant
Lay: Helen Sauce, h@hsause.com


CONTRA COSTA DEANERY

Officers

President: the Rev. Christian Lehrer, clehrer@msn.com
Vice President: Jim Wiant, wiant@comcast.com
Secretary: Diane Loehr, diane.loehr@gmail.com
Treasurer: Ken Jessup, kenj747@aol.com

2018 Meetings: All meetings begin with dinner at 6:30 p.m. There is a $10 suggested donation.

March 15 St. Stephen’s, Orinda; June 21St. Anselm’s, Lafayette; September 20Grace Church, Martinez; November 15St. Michael’s and All Angels, Concord            

Executive Council Representatives:

Rev. Jane Stratford — jane@ststephensorinda.org
Jim Wiant — wiant.jim@gmail.com

Diocesan Committee on Nominations:

Clergy: the Rev. Deb White — revdeb@gracemtz.org

Lay: Harlan Van Wye — coronado34@aol.com


MARIN DEANERY

Officers

President: Joe Jennings, josephwjennings@sbcglobal.net
Vice-President (acting): the Rev. Carol Luther, cluther@well.com
Second Vice-President: Jay Luther, jluther@lutherlaw.com
Secretary: (open)
Treasurer: Connie Granger, conniecg@aol.com

2018 Convocations

February 28St. Stephen's, Belvedere, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; May 19Nativity, San Rafael, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.;  September 26 Our Saviour, Mill Valley, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; November 17St. Paul's, San Rafael, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Carol Luther, cluther@well.com
Lay: Ruth Baney, rrbaney@aol.com

Executive Committee
The Rev. Margaret Trezevant, ptrezevant@gmail.com
Wendy Olson, wendyolson63@gmail.com


PENINSULA  DEANERY

Bylaws

Officers
President: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net
Vice-president: Rebecca Goldberg, rgold63641@aol.com
Secretary: Janet Christensen, janetchristensen@sbcglobal.net
Treasurer: Irene Lawrence, irenelawrence42@gmail.com

2017 Convocations

March 4 — Good Shepherd, 10 a.m. to 12 noon; June 29 — BBQ, Holy Family, Half Moon Bay, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; September 23 — St. Andrew’s, San Bruno, 10 a.m. to 12 noon; November 9 — TBD, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Anna Lange-Soto, ablange@aol.com
Lay: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net


SAN FRANCISCO DEANERY

Officers
President: Sarah Lawton, sarahelawton@gmail.com
Vice-president for Clergy: the Rev. Jane McDougle, jane@holyinsf.org
Vice-president for Lay: Laura Curlin, lecurlin@gmail.com
Secretary: Regan Murphy, reganhmurphy@gmail.com
Treasurer: Peter Fairfield, peterlinnea@earthlink.net

2017 Convocations, the following Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon (begins with Eucharist):

March 11 —  St. Mary the Virgin, May 13 St. Francis'September 16 Holy Innocents'November 11 St. Gregory of Nyssa

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Thomas Jackson, tcjackson@gmail.com
Lay: Sarah Lehman, slehmanwvan@gmail.com


SOUTHERN ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: Ron Culmer, onebreadonecup@msn.com
Vice President: Scott Whitaker, straightrail1@yahoo.com
Secretary: Diane Granlund, granlund@att.net
Treasurer: Jim DeMersman, jimdem1957@aol.com

2017 Fall Meeting: Sunday, Sept 24, 2 p.m. — St. Clare’s, Pleasanton

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: vacant
Lay: vacant