Executive Council

DOCUMENTS

MINUTES

ASSESSMENT APPEALS
 

What is Executive Council and what does it do?

Executive Council shares primary responsibility for planning and directing the temporal affairs of the diocese with the bishop and the Standing Committee, as provided by the constitution and canons of the diocese and of The Episcopal Church. Council acts for the diocesan convention between its annual meetings to implement the programs, policies and budgets convention approved. Additionally, Council serves as the board of directors of the diocesan corporation, exercising, except where canonically restricted, all the fiduciary responsibilities and powers of such a board under California law governing religious corporations. In consultation with the Department of Finance and the treasurer, Council oversees the management of the operating fund and of investments (including real estate), and develops prudent policies and procedures governing the use of diocesan funds. The bishop is president of Council while the other members are elected to staggered three-year terms: two per deanery (one of whom must be lay), six at large by the Convention; the bishop has the right to appoint up to six members and the chancellor, treasurer, and secretary of the convention are ex officio members. Council officers are chair, vice chair, and secretary; we are elected by Council from among its elected members.

 

The Rt. Rev. Marc Handley Andrus
Bishop and President
bishopmarc@diocal.org

 

 

 2018 Officers

 

The Rev. Deborah Hawkins
Chair

Lane Ringlee
Vice Chair

The Rev. Matthew Woodward
Secretary

     
 

Class of 2018

 

Robert Middleton
Convention Representative
chaplinrobt@gmail.com
St. John’s, Oakland
Alameda Deanery

The Rev. Deborah Hawkins
Convention Representative
steandarev@gmail.com
St. Elizabeth’s and St. Andrew’s
Peninsula Deanery

The Rev. Matthew Woodward
Deanery Representative
rector@transfig-sm.org
Transfiguration, San Mateo
Peninsula Deanery
 

Wendy Olson
Deanery Representative
wendyolson63@gmail.com
St. Paul’s, San Rafael
Marin Deanery

Bruce Morrow
Deanery Representative
bvmorrow6801@sbcglobal.net
Alameda Deanery

Scott Whitaker
Deanery Representative
straighttrail1@yahoo.com
Southern Alameda Deanery

     
 

Class of 2019

 

Jim Wiant
Deanery Representative
wiant.jim@gmail.com
St. George’s, Antioch
Contra Costa Deanery

Ronald Johnson
Deanery Representative
San Francisco Deanery

Susan MacKenzie
Convention Representative
susanwmackenzie@gmail.com
St. Luke’s, San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

The Rev. Margaret Trezevant
Deanery Representative
ptrezevant@gmail.com
Our Saviour, Mill Valley
Marin Deanery

Lane Ringlee
Convention Representative
ringlee@comcast.net
St. Stephen’s, Orinda
Contra Costa Deanery

Scott Buckingham
Deanery Representative
b.scott.buckingham@gmail.com
St. Paul's, Oakland
Alameda Deanery

 

Class of 2020

 

The Rev. Jane Stratford
Deanery Representative
jane@ststephensorinda.org
St. Stephen's, Orinda
Contra Costa Deanery

The Rev. Debra Low-Skinner
Deanery Representative
Revdeb95008@gmail.com
Christ Church Sei Ko Kai
San Francisco Deanery

Thomas LaFrance
Deanery Representative
vivelafrance@earthlink.net
All Saints, San Leandro
Southern Alameda Deanery

Charles Mader
Convention Representative
Charlie@charlesmader.com
St. Aidan's, San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

Patrick Andersen
Convention Representative
pwandersen@yahoo.com
Trinity/St. Peter's
San Francisco Deanery
 
 
     

 

Bishop’s Appointees

 

     

Brad Barber
brad.barber@sbcglobal.net
St. Stephen’s, Orinda
Contra Costa Deanery
Class of 2017

Miguel Bustos
miguelbustos@gmail.com
St. John the Evangelist, San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

Robyn Amos
marakasiempre3@gmail.com
St. Cyprian's, San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

 

     

 

Ex-Officio Members

 

David Frangquist
Secretary of Convention
frangquist@acm.org
St. Aidan’s, San Francisco

Robert McCaskill
Treasurer of the Diocese
bob@mccaskill.net
St. Stephen’s, Belvedere

 

     
 

Other Attendees

 

Christopher Hayes, Esq.
Chancellor of the Diocese
Borowsky & Hayes LLP
christopher.hayes@borowsky.com
Grace Cathedral, San Francisco

Dorothy Randall-Tsuruta, PhD
Standing Committee Representative
drtsuruta@sfsu.edu
Grace Cathedral, San Francisco

 

     

 

Diocesan Staff

 

The Rev. Canon Abbott Bailey
Canon to the Ordinary
abbottb@diocal.org
415.869.7806

Davey Gerhard
Director of Development
daveyg@diocal.org
415.869.7836

Stephanie Martin Taylor
Working Group Head for Communications
stephaniem@diocal.org
415.869.7820

Tom Ferguson
Chief Financial and Operations Officer
tomf@diocal.org
415.869.7819

The Rev. Eric Metoyer
Associate for Congregational Ministries
ericm@diocal.org
415.869.7810

Amy Cook
Working Group Head for Faith Formation
amyc@diocal.org
415.869.7825

Jeremy Clark-King
Congregational Development Consultant
jeremyck@diocal.org

 

Amanda Kiernan Martin
Planned Giving Director
amandam@diocal.org
415.869.7812

 

     

 

Recording Secretary

 

 

Mary Louise Gotthold
 

 

 

Photo of the Class of 2018

Class of 2018

 

Photo of the Class of 2019

Class of 2019

 

Photo of the Class of 2020

Class of 2020