Deaneries

The Diocese of California is organized into six deaneries (a group of congregations). The Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and Southern Alameda deaneries cover their respective counties; the Peninsula Deanery consists of all of San Mateo County and a small portion of Santa Clara County.

The deaneries hold convocations/meetings three to four times each year; contact the deanery president or officers for exact meeting dates and locations if not listed here.
 
 

2018 DEANERY OFFICERS

Deanery-elected members to diocesan Executive Council are listed on the Executive Council web page here.
 

ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: Scott Buckingham, b.scott.buckingham@gmail.com
Vice President: Carolyn George, cgeorge207@yahoo.com
Secretary: Robin Henke, rrhenke@rti.org
Treasurer: Pamela Kruse-Buckingham, pamela.kruse.buckingham@gmail.com

2018 meetings: All meetings begin with dinner at 6:30 p.m., meeting begins at 7 p.m.
June 14 — St Paul's, Oakland; September 13 — St. James, Oakland;  November 8 — St. John's, Oakland

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: The Rev. Julie Wakelee-Lynch
Lay: Helen Sauce, h@hsause.com

Churches
All Souls, Berkeley
Christ Church, Alameda
Christ the Lord, Pinole
Good Shepherd, Berkeley
Holy Trinity/La Santisima Trinidad, Richmond

Our Saviour, Oakland
St. Alban's, Albany
St. Augustine's, Oakland
St. Clement's, Berkeley
St. Cuthbert's, Oakland
St. James'/Iglesia de Santiago, Oakland
St. John's, Oakland
St. Mark's, Berkeley
St. Paul's, Oakland


CONTRA COSTA DEANERY

Officers
President: the Rev. Christian Lehrer, clehrer@msn.com
Vice President: Jim Wiant, wiant@comcast.com
Secretary: Diane Loehr, diane.loehr@gmail.com
Treasurer: Ken Jessup, kenj747@aol.com

2018 meetings: All meetings begin with dinner at 6:30 p.m. There is a $10 suggested donation.
March 15 — St. Stephen’s, Orinda; June 21 — St. Anselm’s, Lafayette; September 13 — Grace Church, Martinez; November 15 — St. Michael’s and All Angels, Concord            

Executive Council Representatives
The Rev. Jane Stratford, jane@ststephensorinda.org
Jim Wiant, wiant.jim@gmail.com

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Deborah White, revdeb@gracechurchmtz.org
Lay: Harlan Van Wye, coronado34@aol.com

Churches
Grace, Martinez
Resurrection, Pleasant Hill
St. Alban's, Brentwood
St. Anselm's, Lafayette
St. George's, Antioch
St. John's, Clayton
St. Luke's, Walnut Creek
St. Mark's, Crockett
St. Michaels and All Angels, Concord
St. Paul's, Walnut Creek
St. Stephen's, Orinda
St. Timothy's, Danville


MARIN DEANERY

Officers

President: Joe Jennings, josephwjennings@sbcglobal.net
Vice-President (acting): the Rev. Carol Luther, cluther@well.com
Second Vice-President: Jay Luther, jluther@lutherlaw.com
Secretary: (open)
Treasurer: Connie Granger, conniecg@aol.com

2018 meetings
February 28 — St. Stephen's, Belvedere, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; May 19 — Nativity, San Rafael, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.;  September 26 — Our Saviour, Mill Valley, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; November 17 — St. Paul's, San Rafael, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Carol Luther, cluther@well.com
Lay: Ruth Baney, rrbaney@aol.com

Executive Committee
The Rev. Margaret Trezevant, ptrezevant@gmail.com
Wendy Olson, wendyolson63@gmail.com

Churches
Christ Church, Sausalito
Holy Innocents', Corte Madera
Nativity, San Rafael
New Skellig Celtic Christian Community, Inverness
Our Saviour, Mill Valley
Redeemer, San Rafael
St. Aidan's, Bolinas
St. Columba's, Inverness
St. Francis of Assisi, Novato
St. John's, Ross
St. Paul's, San Rafael
St. Stephen's, Belvedere


PENINSULA  DEANERY

Bylaws

Officers
President: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net
Vice-president: Rebecca Goldberg, rgold63641@aol.com
Secretary: Romain Kang
Treasurer: Irene Lawrence, irenelawrence42@gmail.com

2018 Convocations
September 15, 10 a.m. — Good Shepherd, Belmont

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Anna Lange-Soto, ablange@aol.com
Lay: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net

Churches
Christ Church, Los Altos
Christ Church, Portola Valley
El Buen Pastor, Redwood City
Epiphany, San Carlos
Good Shepherd, Belmont
Holy Child and St. Martin, Daly City
Holy Family, Half Moon Bay
SEA Episcopal, San Bruno and South San Francisco
St. Ambrose, Foster City
St. Bede's, Menlo Park
St. Edmund's, Pacifica
St. Elizabeth's, South San Franciso
St. Mark's, Palo Alto
St. Matthew's, San Mateo
St. Paul's, Burlingame
St. Peter's, Redwood City
Transfiguration, San Mateo
Trinity, Menlo Park


SAN FRANCISCO DEANERY

Officers
President: Laura Curlin, lecurlin@gmail.com
Vice-president for Clergy: the Rev. Jane McDougle, jane@holyinsf.org
Vice-president for Lay: Mike Chambers, mcham31153@aol.com 
Secretary: Regan Murphy, reganhmurphy@gmail.com
Treasurer: Peter Fairfield, peterlinnea@earthlink.net

2018 Convocations, the following Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon (begins with morning prayer):
March 10 —  St. Francis, May 12 — Incarnation, September 8 — Trinity + St. Peter's, November 17 — St. James

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Thomas Jackson, tcjackson@gmail.com
Lay: Sarah Lehman, slehmanwvan@gmail.com

Churches (all in San Francisco)
All Saints
Advent of Christ the King
Christ Church Sei Ko Kai
Grace Cathedral
Holy Innocents'
Incarnation
St. Aidan's
St. Cyprian's
St. Francis
St. Gregory of Nyssa
St. James
St. John the Evangelist
St. Luke's
St. Mary the Virgin
Trinity + St. Peter's
True Sunshine


SOUTHERN ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: the Rev. Andrew D. Lobban, rector@saintbartslivermore.com
Vice President: the Rev. Lori Walton, lori@saintj.com
Secretary: Diane Granlund, granlund@att.net
Treasurer: Jim DeMersman, jimdem1957@aol.com

2018 Meetings
Sunday, Sept. 9, 2 p.m. at St. Clare's, Pleasanton (business meeting only)
Sunday, Dec. 9, 2 p.m. at St. Bartholomew's, Livermore

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Kathleen Bradford, deaconkathyb@gmail.com
Lay: Mike Chambers, mcham31153@aol.com

Churches
All Saints', San Leandro
Holy Cross, Castro Valley
St. Anne's, Fremont
St. Bartholomew's, Livermore
St. Clare's, Pleasanton
St. James', Fremont