Executive Council




What is Executive Council and what does it do?

Executive Council shares primary responsibility for planning and directing the temporal affairs of the diocese with the bishop and the Standing Committee, as provided by the constitution and canons of the diocese and of The Episcopal Church. Council acts for the diocesan convention between its annual meetings to implement the programs, policies and budgets convention approved. Additionally, Council serves as the board of directors of the diocesan corporation, exercising, except where canonically restricted, all the fiduciary responsibilities and powers of such a board under California law governing religious corporations. In consultation with the Department of Finance and the treasurer, Council oversees the management of the operating fund and of investments (including real estate), and develops prudent policies and procedures governing the use of diocesan funds. The bishop is president of Council while the other members are elected to staggered three-year terms: two per deanery (one of whom must be lay), six at large by the Convention; the bishop has the right to appoint up to six members and the chancellor, treasurer, and secretary of the convention are ex officio members. Council officers are chair, vice chair, and secretary; we are elected by Council from among its elected members.

Contact Executive Council at: executivecouncil@diocal.org


The Rt. Rev. Marc Handley Andrus
Bishop and President



2021 Officers


Richard Patenaude

The Rev. Jon Owens
Vice Chair

Mees Tielens


Class of 2021


The Rev. Krista Fregoso
Deanery Representative
St. Paul's Walnut Creek
Contra Costa Deanery

The Rev. Lindy Bunch
Deanery Representative
Trinity+St. Peter's San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

Aidan Jobe Sea
Deanery Representative
Transfiguration, San Mateo 
Peninsula Deanery

Elaine-Vallecillo Miller
Deanery Representative
St. James Fremont
Southern Alameda Deanery

Sherry Lund
Convention Representative
Christ Church Portola Valley and Woodside

Jeanette Dinwiddie-Moore
Convention Representative
St. Paul's Oakland
Alameda Deanery


Class of 2022


Marj Leeds
Deanery Representative
Grace, Martinez
Contra Costa Deanery

The Rev. Ginger Strickland
Convention Representative
St. John's, Ross
Marin Deanery

Tom Matthews
Convention Representative
St. James, San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

Anna Haight
Deanery Representative
St. Columba's, Inverness
Marin Deanery

Birgit Eschmann
Deanery Representative
St. John the Evangelist, San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery

The Rev. Jon Owens
Deanery Representative
St. John's, Oakland
Alameda Deanery



Bishop’s Appointees


Edgar Woo
Church of Our Savior Oakland
Alameda Deanery

Bruno Peguese
St. Cyprian's San Francisco
San Francisco Deanery


The Rev. Liz Tichenor
Resurrection, Pleasant Hill
Contra Costa Deanery




Ex-Officio Members


The Rev. Br. Richard Helmer
Secretary of Convention
Our Saviour, Mill Valley

Lane Ringlee
Treasurer of the Diocese

St. Stephen’s Orinda



Other Attendees


Christopher Hayes, Esq.
Chancellor of the Diocese
Borowsky & Hayes LLP
Grace Cathedral, San Francisco

Albe Larsen
Standing Committee Representative
St. Matthew’s, San Mateo




Diocesan Staff


The Rev. Debra Low-Skinner
Canon to the Ordinary

The Rev. Michele Racusin
Chief Financial and Operations Officer

Davey Gerhard
Director of Development




Class of 2021


Class of 2022