Standing Committee



The Standing Committee of the Diocese of California consists of four lay members and four clergy members of the diocese elected by the annual Diocesan Convention and authorized by the Constitution and Canons of The Episcopal Church. Each year one new lay and one new clergy member are elected to replace retiring members. The Constitution and Canons of the Diocese of California specify membership, duties, and authority of the Standing Committee. One of the Standing Committee’s major responsibilities is to serve as the Bishop’s Council of Advice; the Canons also give the Committee broad responsibilities for oversight of diocesan affairs.

In addition to advising the bishop, the Standing Committee has responsibilities involving such varied matters as the disposition of property, the election and consecration of bishops, ecclesiastical discipline as defined in Title IV, and the approval of candidates for ordained ministry. Furthermore, the Standing Committee oversees the processes of diocesan governance and the nominations process for elected diocesan positions. Contact information for each member follows below.

The Standing Committee begins each meeting with prayer, and asks members of the diocese to pray for Standing Committee, its work, and ministry. General inquiries can be sent to:

For the Diocese (BCP p. 817)
O God, by your grace you have called us in this diocese to a goodly fellowship of faith. Bless our Bishop Marc, and other clergy, and all our people. Grant that your Word may be truly preached and truly heard, your Sacraments faithfully administered and faithfully received. By your Spirit, fashion our lives according to the example of your Son, and grant that we may show the power of your love to all among whom we live; through Jesus Christ our Savior. Amen.

Meeting Dates

Each November, the newly elected members of the Standing Committee determine the meeting day and time most convenient for the membership that year.

Currently, the Standing Committee meets the second Thursday of the month at 10 a.m.

If you wish to make a presentation at or attend a Standing Committee meeting, please contact the Standing Committee in advance to verify meeting place and time, email

December 3, 2019
January 9, 2020
February 13
March 12
April 2
May 14
June 11
July 9
August 13
September 10
October 8
Diocesan Convention, October 23 to 24
Standing Committee Retreat, November 13 to 14

Standing Committee 2020-2021


President: The Rev. Dr. Deborah White
Vice President: The Rev. Pamela Jester
Secretary: Noreen Huey

General inquiries can be sent to:

Clergy Order, Class of 2021
The Rev. Pamela Jester
All Saints, San Leandro
South Alameda

Lay Order, Class of 2021
Albe Larsen
St. Matthew’s, San Mateo

Clergy Order, Class of 2022
The Rev. Dr. Deborah White
Grace, Martinez
Contra Costa

Lay Order, Class of 2022
Noreen Huey
St. James, San Francisco
San Francisco

Clergy Order, Class of 2023
The Rev. Todd Bryant
St. Timothy’s, Danville
Contra Costa 

Lay Order, Class of 2023
Andrew Han
Christ Church, Alameda

Clergy Order, Class of 2024 
The Rev. Mauricio Wilson
St. Paul’s, Oakland

Lay Order, Class of 2024
Robyn Amos
St. Cyprian’s, San Francisco
San Francisco